Digitization in the relocation industry

We created a web app for the Swiss number 1 in the relocation business for the recording of moving goods and the planning of logistics.

Keller Swiss Group Stimmungsbild

Client

Keller Swiss Group (KSG) is the number 1 in the Swiss market for commercial and private removals and relocation services. Since 1855, KSG has been organising Swiss and international transports and removals for corporations, businesses and private individuals. One of KSG’s specialities is the international relocation of employees for globally active corporations. KSG can rely on a first-class international partner network of forwarding agents and removal companies on site.

Initial situation

KSG needs a mobile web application for the efficient recording of moving goods and the planning of logistics requirements at the customer’s place. The web app should enable the capture of removal goods with photos, even when not connected to the Internet, and seamlessly transfer the data to the company’s own ERP system upon return of the KSG employee to their office.

The KSG employee enters the customer’s premises with a tablet and records the rooms, removal goods and condition, planned packing and shipping material, further logistics requirements and photographs of the removal goods. The web app supports the employee with automatic calculation of the size and weight of the goods to be moved, and calculates the required volumes for the various means of transport. Based on the calculated volumes, the KSG employee can immediately call up the truck for the move date on site, reserve cranes from the fleet and personnel for the moving date. Finally, the signature of the customer for the protocol is collected via the web app on site.

Qualimover Vue.js Survey App

Solution

We have decided for a web app instead of a native app, as the web app runs in the browser of the end device, thus enabling a more efficient and cost-effective development based on standard web technologies (Javascript, HTML5).

A technical hurdle in the implementation was the asynchronous capture and transfer of data from the web app to the ERP system. In order to run the web app offline, all captured data is stored in the local memory of the browser. Using modern state management, the data state of the web app is constantly synchronized with the data state in the local memory. As soon as the KSG employee has an Internet connection, he can then transfer the local data state to the ERP system via a REST API.

Our services

  • conception and soltudion architecture
  • user experience and design
  • web app frontend with Vue.js
  • REST API
  • integration into the corporate ERP system

Digitalisierung in der Umzugsbranche

Für die Schweizer Nummer 1 im Umzugsgewerbe haben wir eine Web App zur mobilen Erfassung von Umzugsgut und zur Planung der Logistik erstellt.

Keller Swiss Group Stimmungsbild

Kunde

Keller Swiss Group (KSG) ist die Nummer 1 im Schweizer Markt für gewerbliche und private Umzüge. Seit 1855 organisiert KSG schweizweit und international Transporte und Umzüge für Konzerne, Gewerbe und Privatpersonen. Eine Spezialität der KSG ist die internationale Relocation von Mitarbeitern für global tätige Konzerne. Dabei greift KSG auf ein erstklassiges, internationales Partner-Netzwerk an Spediteuren und Umzugsunternehmen vor Ort zurück.

Ausgangslage

Für die effiziente Erfassung von Umzugsgut und die Planung der Logistikanforderungen braucht KSG eine mobile Web Applikation. Die Web App soll - auch ohne aktive Internetverbindung - die Erfassung von Umzugsgut mit Fotos ermöglichen und die Daten nahtlos in das Firmeneigene ERP-System einspeisen.

Dazu begeht ein Mitarbeiter der KSG mit einem Tablet die Räumlichkeiten des Kunden, und erfasst Räume, Umzugsgut und Zustand, geplantes Pack- und Verschiffungsmaterial, weitere Logistikanforderungen und fotografiert das Umzugsgut. Die Web App unterstützt den Mitarbeiter dabei mit standardisierten Umzugsgut-Grössenangaben und Volumen, und berechnet das Volumen für die diversen Transportmittel. Basierend auf den errechneten Volumen kann der Mitarbeiter der KSG gleich vor Ort für den Umzugstermin Lastwagen und Kräne aus dem Fuhrpark reservieren. Zuletzt wird mittels der Web App noch die Unterschrift vom Kunden für das Protokoll abgeholt.

Sobald der Mitarbeiter eine Internetverbindung hat, kann er den kompletten Datensatz mit einer Handgeste zur weiteren Bearbeitung an die Firmeninterne ERP-Lösung übermitteln.

Lösung

Wir haben uns für eine Web App entschieden. Die Web App läuft im Gegensatz zu einer Mobile App im Browser des Endgeräts, und ermöglich so eine effizientere und kostengünstige Entwicklung basierend auf Standard Web-Technologien (Javascript, HTML5).

Eine technische Hürde in der Umsetzung war die Asynchronität der Erfassung und der Übertragung der Daten aus der Web App in das ERP-System. Um die Web App offline laufen zu lassen, werden sämtliche erfasste Daten im lokalen Speicher des Browsers abgelegt. Über ein modernes State Management wird der Daten-Zustand der Web App ständig mit dem Daten-Zustand im lokalen Speicher synchron gehalten. Sobald der Mitarbeiter eine Internetverbindung hat, kann er den lokalen Daten-Zustand über eine REST API auf das ERP-System übertragen.

Unsere Leistung

  • Konzeption und Architektur
  • UX und Design
  • Web App Frontend in Vue.js
  • REST API / Schnittstelle
  • Integration in das ERP-System